Jennifer Jones wins Masters of Curling

Jennifer Jones (Winnipeg, MB) wins the Masters of Curling, defeating Kerri Einarson (Winnipeg, MB) 6-5. Jones with Kaitlyn Lawes at third, Jill Officer and Dawn McEwen on the front end take home the $30,000CDN first place cheque along with 82.053 world ranking points, while Einarson receives $18,000CDN and 64.471 world ranking points for their second place finish.

Starting with hammer, Einarson scored 1 in the first end, then Jones responded in the second end scoring 2. Einarson scored a single in the third end, then added a steal in the fourth end to take a 3-2 lead. Jones scored 3 in the fifth end, then added a steal in the sixth end to take a commanding 6-2 lead. Jones forced Einarson to a single in the seventh end, then removed one of two Einarson counters in the 8th end for the 6-5 win.

In the semifinals, Jones defeated Anna Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, Sweden) 10-4 and Einarson defeated Eve Muirhead (Perth , Scotland) 6-3. Hasselborg and Muirhead earned $12,000CDN and 49.818 ranking points for their semifinal finishes. In the quarterfinals, Jones defeated Jamie Sinclair (Blaine, USA) 5-4 in an extra end, Einarson defeated Silvana Tirinzoni (Aarau, Switzerland) 7-3, while Hasselborg defeated Casey Scheidegger (Lethbridge, AB) 6-1 and Muirhead defeated Alina Paetz (Zurich, Switzerland) 5-4. Tirinzoni, Paetz, Sinclair and Scheidegger earned $9,000CDN along with 35.166 ranking points for their quarterfinal finishes.

Jones went 4-0 in the 15 team round-robin pools qualifying round. In their opening game, Jones defeated Sherry Middaugh (Coldwater, ON) 7-3, won against Paetz 8-2, and Jacqueline Harrison (Mississauga, ON) 10-4. Jones finished off the round-robin undefeated with an 8-4 win against Tirinzoni in their final qualifying round match.