Andrew Hunt wins Thistle Integrity Stakes

Andrew Hunt (Winnipeg, MB) wins the Thistle Integrity Stakes, defeating William Lyburn (Winnipeg, MB) 5-4 at the Thistle Curling Club in Winnipeg, Canada. Hunt with Dillon Bednarek at third, Mitch Einarson and Bryan Galbraith on the front end take home the $1,300CDN first place cheque along with 18.297 world ranking points, while Lyburn receives $900CDN and 14.377 world ranking points for their second place finish.

Starting with hammer, Hunt scored 1 in the first end. After blanking 2 ends, Lyburn scored 2 in the fourth end to take a 2-1 lead. Hunt responded in the fifth end scoring 2. then added a steal in the sixth end, with Lyburn scoring 2 in the seventh end to tie the game into the final end. Hunt scored a single in the eighth end to win 5-4.

In the semifinals, Hunt defeated JT Ryan (Winnipeg, MB) 6-4 and Lyburn defeated Tanner Lott (Winnipeg Beach, MB) 4-1. Ryan and Lott earned $750CDN and 11.109 ranking points for their semifinal finishes. In the quarterfinals, Hunt defeated Hayden Forrester (Winnipeg, MB) 6-5, Lyburn defeated Tyler Drews (Winnipeg, MB) 5-1. Forrester, Drews earned $550CDN along with 7.842 ranking points for their quarterfinal finishes.

Hunt went 4-2 in the 16 team triple knockout qualifying round. In their opening game, Hunt lost 5-2 to Jordan Smith (Winnipeg, MB), then responded with a 7-0 win over Richard Muntain (Pinawa, MB), before losing their next game to Lyburn 7-3 to drop into the C-event. Hunt won 6-5 win over Braden Calvert (Winnipeg, MB), won against Tucker Smith (Bismarck, ND) and Sean Grassie (Winnipeg, MB) 8-2 in the C-Qualifier to advance to the playoffs.